Dying Message Boards

Discuss the MVC hoops season here.

Dying Message Boards

Postby jsaluki080 » November 14th, 2023, 9:50 am

Disclaimer: Ill-thought- out tipsy post ahead

Why does this board seem so much less active? Are message boards in general less active cause younger ppl steer towards alt social media thingy or is it that the MVC hasn't been as good in recent years or something else?
jsaluki080
MVC Role Player
MVC Role Player

Dying Message Boards

Sponsor

Sponsor

Re: Dying Message Boards

Postby unipanther99 » November 14th, 2023, 10:29 am

Yes to both, but probably more to do with demographics. Would be interesting to poll age brackets on here, but for me - messages boards were big when I was a student in the late 90's, so I'm sure a lot of fans my age (48) and older kind of stuck with it.

The Valleytalk days were a little more wild because I would guess more active posters were in their 20's. Now that most of us are middle-aged or even older, you don't get as many of the hot takes that spark engagement.
unipanther99
MVCfans.com
MVCfans.com

Postby TBS_20 » November 14th, 2023, 11:56 am

A lot of boards have just moved to reddit, as well. Not MVC boards but in general.
TBS_20
MVC starter
MVC starter

Postby So iLL 24 » November 14th, 2023, 1:19 pm

X, aka Twitter, is killing message boards. You can make a username and comment in real time.
So iLL 24
MVC Role Player
MVC Role Player

Postby TylerDurden » November 14th, 2023, 1:54 pm

jsaluki080 wrote:Disclaimer: Ill-thought- out tipsy post ahead

Why does this board seem so much less active? Are message boards in general less active cause younger ppl steer towards alt social media thingy or is it that the MVC hasn't been as good in recent years or something else?

Don't forget how much Shocker fans liked to hear themselves speak. :D
TylerDurden
All MVC
All MVC

Postby PretzelDawg » November 14th, 2023, 3:14 pm